Tagged: national board of review awards Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • Ahsan Haseeb 10:41 pm on December 9, 2014 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: a most violent year, , , , , , , national board of review awards, ,   

    86th Annual National Board of Review Awards 


    The National Board of Review (NBR) announced their 2014 awards with giving away the Best Film award to A MOST VIOLENT YEAR, written, directed and co-produced by J. C. Chandor whereas the Best Director award went to Clint Eastwood for American Sniper. A Most Violent Year winning the Best Film award was quite unexpected as there was no award buzz for this film but people might start to notice it more now.

    Last year, none of the NBR winners won the Oscar. Let’s see what happens this year.

    Here is the complete list of winners:


    Best Director: Clint Eastwood, AMERICAN SNIPER

    Best Actor [tie]: Oscar Isaac, A MOST VIOLENT YEAR and Michael Keaton, BIRDMAN

    Best Actress: Julianne Moore, STILL ALICE

    Best Supporting Actor: Edward Norton, BIRDMAN

    Best Supporting Actress: Jessica Chastain, A MOST VIOLENT YEAR

    Best Original Screenplay: Phil Lord and Christopher Miller, THE LEGO MOVIE

    Best Adapted Screenplay: Paul Thomas Anderson, INHERENT VICE

    Best Animated Feature: HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON 2

    Breakthrough Actor: Jack O’Connell, STARRED UP and UNBROKEN

    Best Directorial Debut: Gillian Robespierre, OBVIOUS CHILD

    Best Foreign Language Film: WILD TALES

    Best Documentary: LIFE ITSELF

    William K. Everson Film History Award: Scott Eyman

    Best Ensemble: FURY

    Spotlight Award: Chris Rock for writing, directing, and starring TOP FIVE

    NBR Freedom of Expression Award: ROSEWATER and SELMA

    Top Films (in alphabetical order):

    • A Most Violent Year
    • American Sniper
    • Birdman
    • Boyhood
    • Fury
    • Gone Girl
    • The Imitation Game
    • Inherent Vice
    • The Lego Movie
    • Nightcrawler
    • Unbroken

    Top 5 Foreign Language Films (in alphabetical order):

    • Force Majeure
    • Gett: The Trial of Viviane Amsalem
    • Leviathan
    • Two Days, One Night
    • We Are the Best!

    Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order):

    • Art and Craft
    • Jodorowsky’s Dune
    • Keep On Keepin’ On
    • The Kill Team
    • Last Days in Vietnam

    Top Independent Films

    • Blue Ruin
    • Locke
    • A Most Wanted Man
    • Mr. Turner
    • Obvious Child
    • The Skeleton Twins
    • Snowpiercer
    • Stand Clear of the Closing Doors
    • Starred Up
    • Still Alice
  • Ahsan Haseeb 12:08 am on December 5, 2013 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , , , , , , , national board of review awards, , , , spike jonez, , the secret life of walter mitty,   

    85th Annual National Board of Review Awards 


    The National Board of Review (NBR) announced their awards on December 4th, 2013 with giving away the Best Film award to HER, directed and produced by Spike Jonze who also won the Best Director award. To be honest, I wasn’t expecting it at all, especially after yesterday’s NYFCC awards. Spike is a talented and innovative filmmaker and it’s very nice of the board to appreciate his work.

    All the wins are actually kind of amazing especially the Wolf of Wall Street‘s Adapted Screenplay award and the Secret Life of Walter Mitty (a genuine surprise – I so want to watch this film now) making it to the list of top 10 films. These are the first honors for both of these movies this award season and I’m sure the best is yet to come.

    Last year, only 2 out of 11 (not counting those categories that are not recognized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences) NBR winners actually won the Oscar, i.e. Best Documentary for Searching for Sugar Man and Best Foreign Language Film for Amour. Let’s see what happens this year.

    Here is the complete list of winners:

    Best Film: HER

    Best Director: Spike Jonze (HER)

    Best Actor: Bruce Dern (NEBRASKA)

    Best Actress: Emma Thompson (SAVING MR. BANKS)

    Best Supporting Actor: Will Forte (NEBRASKA)

    Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer (FRUITVALE STATION)

    Best Original Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen (INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS)

    Best Adapted Screenplay: Terence Winter (THE WOLF OF WALL STREET)

    Best Animated Feature: THE WIND RISES

    Breakthrough Actor: Michael B. Jordan (FRUITVALE STATION)

    Breakthrough Actress: Adele Exarchopoulos (BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR)

    Best Directorial Debut: Ryan Coogler (FRUITVALE STATION)

    Best Foreign Language Film: THE PAST

    Best Documentary: STORIES WE TELL

    William K. Everson Film History Award: George Stevens, Jr.

    Best Ensemble: PRISONERS

    Spotlight Award: Career Collaboration of Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio

    NBR Freedom of Expression Award: WADJDA

    Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award: GRAVITY

    Top Films (in alphabetical order):

    • 12 Years a Slave
    • Fruitvale Station
    • Gravity
    • Inside Llewyn Davis
    • Lone Survivor
    • Nebraska
    • Prisoners
    • Saving Mr. Banks
    • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty
    • The Wolf of Wall Street

    Top 5 Foreign Language Films (in alphabetical order):

    • Beyond the Hills
    • Gloria
    • The Grandmaster
    • A Hijacking
    • The Hunt

    Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order):

    • 20 Feet from Stardom
    • The Act of Killing
    • After Tiller
    • Casting By
    • The Square

    Top 10 Independent Films (in alphabetical order):

    • Ain’t Them Bodies Saints
    • Dallas Buyers Club
    • In a World…
    • Mother of George
    • Much Ado About Nothing
    • Mud
    • The Place Beyond the Pines
    • Short Term 12
    • Sightseers
    • The Spectacular Now
Compose new post
Next post/Next comment
Previous post/Previous comment
Show/Hide comments
Go to top
Go to login
Show/Hide help
shift + esc