21st Annual Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association Awards

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association (DFWFCA) announced their awards on December 15th, 2014 with giving away the Best Picture award to Birdman directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu who also won the Best Director award.

Last year, 11 DFWFCA winners won the Oscars which is a huge feat for critics for awarding the right films. Let’s see how it goes this time.

Here is the list of winners along with runners-up:

Best Film: Birdman
Runners-Up, in order: Boyhood, The Imitation Game, The Theory of Everything,The Grand Budapest Hotel, Whiplash, Gone Girl, Selma, Wild and Nightcrawler

Best Actor: Michael Keaton, Birdman
Runners-Up, in order: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything, Benedict Cumberbatch for The Imitation Game, Jake Gyllenhaal for Nightcrawler and Timothy Spall for Mr. Turner

Best Actress: Reese Witherspoon, Wild
Runners-Up, in order: Julianne Moore for Still Alice, Rosamund Pike for Gone Girl, Felicity Jones for The Theory of Everything and Marion Cotillard for Two Days, One Night

Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
Runners-Up, in order: Edward Norton for Birdman, Ethan Hawke for Boyhood, Mark Ruffalo for Foxcatcher and Alfred Molina for Love is Strange

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Runners-Up, in order: Emma Stone for Birdman, Keira Knightley for The Imitation Game, Jessica Chastain for A Most Violent Year and Laura Dern forWild

Best Director: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Birdman
Runners-Up, in order: Richard Linklater for Boyhood, Wes Anderson for The Grand Budapest Hotel, David Fincher for Gone Girl and Ava DuVernay for Selma

Best Foreign-Language Film: Force Majeure
Runners-Up, in order: Ida, Winter Sleep, Leviathan and Wild Tales

Best Documentary: Citizenfour
Runners-Up, in order: Life Itself, Jodorowsky’s Dune, The Overnighters and The Great Invisible

Best Animated Film: The Lego Movie
Runner-Up: Big Hero 6

Best Screenplay: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo, Birdman
Runner-Up: Richard Linklater for Boyhood

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman
Runner-Up: Hoyte Van Hoytema for Interstellar

Best Musical Score: Hans Zimmer, Intersellar

Winner of the Russell Smith Award: Boyhood