26th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award


The University of South California (USC) announced the winner of 26th annual USC Libraries Scripter Award on February 8th, 2014 with giving away the prize to JOHN RIDLEY for 12 YEARS A SLAVE. This is a remarkable feat for Ridley and it’s possible that he’ll end up winning the Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar on  March 2nd, just like Chris Terrio who won the USC Scripter award last year for Argo and also won the Adapted Screenplay Oscar. This win just works in Ridley‘s favor. But we might still get surprised at the Oscars.

Here is the list of  all the finalists:

Captain Phillips

Billy Ray, screenwriter;
Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty, authors of “A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALs, and Dangerous Days at Sea.


Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, screenwriters;
Martin Sixsmith, author of “The Lost Child of Philomena Lee.

The Spectacular Now

Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, screenwriters;
Tim Tharp, author of the novel of the same name.

WINNER: 12 Years a Slave

John Ridley, screenwriter;
Solomon Northup, author of “Twelve Years a Slave.

What Maisie Knew

Carroll Cartwright and Nancy Doyne, screenwriters, who adapted the novel by Henry James.