3rd Annual Georgia Film Critics Association Awards


The Georgia Film Critics Association (GFCA) announced their awards on January 11th, 2014 with giving away the Best Picture award to Herwritten, directed and co-produced by Spike Jonze whereas the Best Director award went to Alfonso Cuarón for his wonderful direction in space drama GravitySome notable wins include Short Term 12 winning the Best Adapted Screenplay and No winning the Best Foreign Language Film.

Last year, 5 GFCA winners won the Oscars, i.e. Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Foreign Film, Best Animated Film and Best Original Song. Let’s see how it goes this year.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Best Adapted Screenplay: Short Term 12

Best Original Screenplay: Her

Best Cinematography: Gravity

Best Production Design: Gravity

Best Original Score: Her

Best Original Song: Please Mr. Kennedy, Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Ensemble: American Hustle

Breakthrough Award: Brie Larson (“Don Jon,” “Short Term 12,” “The Spectacular Now”)

Best Foreign Film: No

Best Animated Film: Frozen

Best Documentary: Stories We Tell

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema: The Spectacular Now – James Ponsoldt, Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber