8th Annual Excellent Dynamic Activism Awards

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) announced its 8th Excellent Dynamic Activism (EDA) awards with giving away the Best Film award to 12 Years a Slavedirected and co-produced by Steve McQueen who also won the Best Director award.

Last year, only 6 EDA winners won the Oscars, i.e. Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Foreign Language Film, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Documentary and Best Cinematography award.


Best Film: 12 Years a Slave

Best Director (Female or Male): Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave

Best Screenplay, Original: Her – Spike Jonze

Best Screenplay, Adapted: John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave

Best Documentary: Stories We Tell – Sarah Polley

Best Animated Film: The Wind Rises – Hayao Miyazaki

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Ensemble Cast: American Hustle

Best Editing: Gravity – Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger

Best Cinematography: Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Film Music Or Score: Inside Llewyn Davis – T-Bone Burnett

Best Non-English-Language Film: The Hunt – Thomas Vinterberg – Denmark


Best Woman Director: Nicole Holofcener – Enough Said

Best Woman Screenwriter: Nicole Holofcener – Enough Said

Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star: Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Best Animated Female: Anna (Kristen Bell) in Frozen

Best Breakthrough Performance: Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years A Slave

Actress Defying Age and Ageism: Sandra Bullock – Gravity

AWFJ EDA Female Icon Award (presented to an actress for the portrayal of the most positive female role model, or for a role in which she takes personal and/or career risks to plumb the female psyche and therefore gives us courage to plumb our own, and/or for putting forth the image of a woman who is heroic, accomplished, persistent, demands her rights and/or the rights of others.): Angelina Jolie for continued commitments to humanitarian causes, and for promoting awareness about breast cancer.

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry (presented only when warranted to a female who has had a banner-making, record-breaking, industry-changing achievement during any given year.): Haaifa Al-Mansour for challenging the limitations placed on women within her culture by making the film Wadjda.


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award: The Counselor – Ridley Scott

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent: Cameron Diaz for The Counselor

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn’t Award: The Counselor

Unforgettable Moment Award: 12 Years A Slave – Solomon Northrup hanging

Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction Award: Her – Scarlett Johansson and Joaquin Phoenix for their digital lovemaking.

Sequel or Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award (Tie): Carrie and Oz, Great and Powerful

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award: Last Vegas – Michael Douglas and Bre Blair