48th Annual National Society of Film Critics Awards

The National Society of Film Critics (NSFC) announced their awards on January 4th, 2014 with giving away the Best Picture award to Inside Llewyn Davisdirected and co-produced by Coen Brotherswho also won the Best Director award.

Last year, only ONE NSFC winner won the Oscar, i.e. Best Actor for Daniel Day-Lewis. Let’s see how it goes this year.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Director: Coen Brothers

Best Actor: Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)

Best Supporting Actor: James Franco (Spring Breakers)

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)

Best Screenplay: Richard Linklaterm Ethan Hawke, Julie Delpy (Before Midnight)

Best Cinematography: Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Non-Fiction Film: The Act of Killing

Best Foreign Language Film: Blue Is the Warmest Color

Film Heritage

  1. To the Museum of Modern Art, for its wide-ranging retrospective of the films of Allan Dwan.
  2. Too Much Johnson: the surviving reels from Orson Welles’s first professional film. Discovered by Cinemazero (Pordenone) and Cineteca del Friuli; funded by the National Film Preservation Foundation; and restored by the George Eastman House.
  3. British Film Institute for restorations of Alfred Hitchcock‘s nine silent features.
  4. To the DVD American Treasures from the New Zealand Film Archive.