9th Annual Austin Film Critics Association Awards


The Austin Film Critics Association (AFCA) announced their awards on December 17h, 2013 with giving away the Best Film award to Her, written, directed and co-produced by Spike Jonze whereas the Best Director award went to Alfonso Cuarón for his wonderful direction in space drama Gravity.

Last year, 4 AFCA winners won the Oscars, i.e. Best Actress for Jennifer Lawrence, Best Supporting Actor for Christoph Waltz, Best Suppporting Actress for Anne Hathaway and Best Adapted Screenplay for Chris Terrio. Let’s see how it goes this year.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Film: Her (Spike Jonze)

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress: Brie Larson, Short Term 12

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze, Her

Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity

Best Score: Arcade Fire, Her

Best Foreign Language Film: Blue is the Warmest Color (Abdellatif Kechiche)

Best Documentary: The Act of Killing (Joshua Oppenheimer)

Best Animated Film: Frozen (Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee)

Best First Film: Fruitvale Station (Ryan Coogler)

Breakthrough Artist: Brie Larson, Short Term 12

Best Austin Film: Before Midnight (Richard Linklater)

Special Honorary Award: Scarlett Johansson, for her outstanding voice performance in Her

AFCA 2013 Top Ten Films:

  1. Her
  2. 12 Years a Slave
  3. Gravity
  4. The Wolf of Wall Street
  5. Inside Llewyn Davis
  6. Short Term 12
  7. Mud
  8. Before Midnight
  9. Dallas Buyers Club
  10. Captain Phillips