11th Annual African-American Film Critics Association Awards


The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) announced the winners of their 11th annual awards on December 18th, 2013 with giving away the Best Film award to 12 Years a Slavedirected and co-produced by Steve McQueen who also won the Best Director award. I have never been a fan of AAFCA and not including the Wolf of Wall Street in the list of top films has made me dislike them even more.

Last year, none of the AAFCA winners won the Oscar, so that makes them ridiculously irrelevant. Let’s see if the same happens this year or not. Because this year, everyone’s favorite ‘12 Years a Slave’ is AAFCA’s top film.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Top Films of 2013

  1. 12 Years a Slave
  2. Lee Daniels: The Butler
  3. Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
  4. American Hustle
  5. Gravity
  6. Fruitvale Station
  7. Dallas Buyers Club
  8. Saving Mr. Banks
  9. Out of the Furnace
  10.  42

Best Director: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Best Actor: Forest Whitaker, Lee Daniels: The Butler (TWC)

Best Actress: Sandra Bullock, Gravity (Warner Bros.)

Best Supporting Actress: Oprah Winfrey, Lee Daniels: The Butler (TWC)

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features)

Best World Cinema: Mother of George (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

Breakout Performance: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Best Screenplay: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight)

Best Music: Raphael Sadiq, Black Nativity (RCA Inspirational)

Best Independent Film: Fruitvale Station (TWC)

Best Animation: Frozen (Walt Disney Pictures)

Best Documentary: American Promise (Rada Film Group)