47th Annual Kansas City Film Critics Circle Loutzenhiser Awards


The Kansas City Film Critics Circle (KCFCC) announced the winners of 47th annual Loutzenhiser Awards on December 15th, 2013 with giving away the Best Film award to 12 Years a Slavedirected and co-produced by Steve McQueen who also won the Best Director award and shared it with Alfonso Cuarón who won the Best Director award for GravityBoth of them are deserving winners and I couldn’t be more happy with this choice by Kansas Circle. Additionally, 12 Years a Slave was their favorite as it was the biggest winner taking home all the acting awards except Best Actress and also winning the screenplay award for John Ridley.

Last year, 6 KCFCC winners won the Oscars and most of them were acting wins (you can view the previous year’s winners here: 46th Annual Kansas City Film Critics Circle Loutzenhiser Awards). Let’s see what will happen this year!

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Film: 12 Years a Slave

Robert Altman Award for Best Director – Tie: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity & Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress: Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze, Her

Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best Animated Film – Tie: Despicable Me 2 & Frozen

Best Foreign Film: Blue Is the Warmest Color (France)

Best Documentary: The Act of Killing

Vince Koehler Award for Best Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror Film: Her