12th Annual Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association Awards


The Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) announced their awards on December 9th, 2013 with giving away the Best Film award to Steve McQueen‘s 12 Years a SlaveBest Director award went to Alfonso Cuarón for his exceptional work in Gravity. It is now clear that Gravity and 12 Years a Slave have dominated the critics circle and the effect will last longer than anyone could anticipate. It should also be noted that critics are loving Spike Jonze‘s Her (can’t wait to watch the movie) since it’s been winning screenplay, direction and film awards at various circles. One thing that surprised me the most is the bold decision of choosing the Broken Circle Breakdown as the Best Foreign Language Film.

Last year only 4 WAFCA winners won the Oscars, i.e. Daniel Day-Lewis for Best Actor, Anne Hathaway for Best Supporting Actress, Amour for Best Foreign Language Film and Claudio Miranda for Best Cinematography. Let’s see what happens this year!

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Film: 12 Years a Slave

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)

Best Acting Ensemble: 12 Years a Slave

Best Youth Performance: Tye Sheridan (Mud)

Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley (12 Years a Slave)

Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Animated Feature: Frozen

Best Documentary: Blackfish

Best Foreign Language Film: The Broken Circle Breakdown

Best Art Direction: Production Designer: Catherine Martin, Set Decorator: Beverley Dunn (The Great Gatsby)

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, A.M.C. (Gravity)

Best Editing: Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger (Gravity)

Best Original Score: Hans Zimmer (12 Years a Slave)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC: Lee Daniels’ The Butler