39th Annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards


The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) announced their awards on December 8th, 2013 with giving away the Best Picture award to Alfonso Cuarón‘s Gravity and Spike Jonze‘s Her. (Yes, it’s a tie and it’s really nice of the critics to choose these films) Best Director award went to Cuarón for his exceptional work in Gravity. This should be noted that this is Gravity‘s FIRST Best Picture critic award and hopefully not the last one.

LA Film Critics have made some amazing choices this year except for James Franco‘s win in Best Supporting Actor. I didn’t like his acting in Spring Breakers at all and I don’t understand why he thinks he can win an Oscar for that joke of a performance.

Last year, only 2 LAFCA winners won at the Oscars, i.e. Jennifer Lawrence for Best Actress and Chris Terrio for Best Screenplay. Whereas, 4 runner-ups won the Oscar, i.e. Christoph Waltz for Best Supporting Actor, Anne Hathaway for Best Supporting Actress, William Goldenberg for Best Editing and Searching for Sugar Man for Best Documentary. Let’s see what future has in store for us this year!

Here is the complete list of winners along with runner-ups:

Best Picture (tie):

  • Gravity
  • Her

Best Director:

  • Winner: Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)
  • Runner-up: Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Actor:

  • Winner: Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
  • Runner-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)

Best Actress (tie):

  • Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
  • Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color)

Best Supporting Actor (tie):

  • James Franco (Spring Breakers)
  • Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Supporting Actress:

  • Winner: Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
  • Runner-up: June Squibb (Nebraska)

Best Screenplay:

  • Winner: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke (Before Midnight)
  • Runner-up: Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Animated Feature:

  • Winner: Ernest & Celestine
  • Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Best Documentary:

  • Winner: Stories We Tell
  • Runner-up: The Act of Killing

Best Foreign Language Film:

  • Winner: Blue Is the Warmest Color (France)
  • Runner-up: The Great Beauty (Italy)

Best Music Score:

  • Winner: T Bone Burnett (Inside Llewyn Davis)
  • Runner-up: Arcade Fire and Owen Pallett (Her)

Best Cinematography:

  • Winner: Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)
  • Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Editing:

  • Winner: Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger (Gravity)
  • Runner-up: Shane Carruth and David Lowery (Upstream Color)

Best Production Design:

  • Winner: K.K. Barrett (Her)
  • Runner-up: Jess Gonchor (Inside Llewyn Davis)

New Generation Award: Megan Ellison

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award: Charlotte Pryce – Cabinets Of Wonder: Films and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce