13th Annual New York Film Critics Online Awards


The New York Film Critics Online (NYFCO) announced their awards on December, 8th, 2013 with giving away the Best Picture award to 12 Years a Slavedirected and co-produced by Steve McQueenI think it’s now safe to say that 12 Years a Slave is this year’s Zero Dark Thirty because it also got almost the same appreciation from critics at the beginning of the awards season last year. But still, it’s impossible to say which film is going to win big at the end of the day. Alfonso Cuarón won the Best Director award for his brilliant piece of filmmaking Gravity. (FINALLY!) Cuarón also won the Best Director award at Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards.

Last year, only 4 NYFCO winners won at the Oscars, i.e. Best Actor for Daniel Day-Lewis, Best Supporting Actress for Anne Hathaway, Best Cinematography for Claudio Miranda and Best Foreign Language Film for Amour. Hoping for the best this year!

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave

Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)

Best Debut Director: Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station)

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years A Slave)

Best Ensemble: American Hustle

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years A Slave)

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Foreign Language Film: Blue Is the Warmest Color

Best Documentary: The Act of Killing

Best Animated Feature: The Wind Rises

Best Use Of Music: Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Screenplay: Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)

Best Breakthrough Performance: Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color)