23rd Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards


The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) announced the winners of the 23rd annual Gotham Independent Film Awards on December 2nd, 2013. The Gotham Awards is one of the leading awards for independent film and signals the kickoff to the film awards season.

12 Years a Slave received most nominations and on the other hand, there wasn’t a single nomination for Mud, Nebraska, Frances Ha and The Place Beyond the Pines. Surprising.

What’s more surprising is that Inside Llewyn Davis won the Best Feature award, even with 12 Years a Slave in nominations. Other wins seem reasonable, as I haven’t seen most of the films yet. The best thing is the Act of Killing won the Best Documentary award. Truly deserving.

Here is the complete list of winners and nominees:

Best Feature:

  • 12 Years a Slave
  • Ain’t Them Bodies Saints
  • Before Midnight
  • WINNER: Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Upstream Color

Best Documentary:

  • WINNER: The Act of Killing
  • The Crash Reel
  • First Cousin Once Removed
  • Let the Fire Burn
  • Our Nixon

Best Actor:

  • Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
  • Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis)
  • WINNER: Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
  • Robert Redford (All Is Lost)
  • Isaiah Washington (Blue Caprice)

Best Actress:

  • Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
  • Scarlett Johansson (Don Jon)
  • WINNER: Brie Larson (Short Term 12)
  • Amy Seimetz (Upstream Color)
  • Shailene Woodley (The Spectacular Now)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director:

  • WINNER: Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station)
  • Adam Leon (Gimme the Loot)
  • Alexandre Moors (Blue Caprice)
  • Stacie Passon (Concussion)
  • Amy Seimetz (Sun Don’t Shine)

Breakthrough Actor:

  • Dane DeHaan (Kill Your Darlings)
  • Kathryn Hahn (Afternoon Delight)
  • WINNER: Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station)
  • Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
  • Robin Weigert (Concussion)

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award:

  • Tadashi Nakamura (Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings)

Spotlight on Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ Grant:

  • Gita Pullapilly, director, (Beneath the Harvest Sky)

Founded in 1979, IFP is the largest and oldest not-for-profit organization dedicated to independent film.  More info at http://www.ifp.org