28th Annual Independent Spirit Awards

The 28th Annual Independent Spirit Awards were held on February 22nd, 2013. Best Feature went to SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, written and directed by David O. Russell who also won the Best Director award.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Feature: Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best Director: David O. Russell

Best Male Lead: John Hawkes (The Sessions)

Best Female Lead: Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Supporting Male: Matthew McConaughey (Magic Mike)

Best Supporting Female: Helen Hunt (The Sessions)

Best Screenplay: David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best First Screenplay: Derek Connolly (Safety Not Guaranteed)

Best Cinematography: Ben Richardson (Beasts of the Southern Wild)

Best Foreign Film: Amour

Best Documentary Feature: The Invisible War

John Cassavetes Award: Middle of Nowhere

Truer Than Fiction Award: The Waiting Room

Producers Award: Mynette Louie

Someone to Watch Award: Adam Leon (Gimme the Loot)

Robert Altman Award: Starlet

Special Distinction Award: Harris Savides