65th Annual Directors Guild of America Awards

The Directors Guild of America (DGA) announced its winners on February 2nd, 2013 with giving away the Best Feature Film Director award to Ben Affleck for ARGO. Argo has also won the Producers Guild of America and Screen Actors Guild awards and it is such a remarkable achievement for it to win this as well, thus becoming the strongest front-runner in the Best Picture Oscar race. Unfortunately Ben Affleck didn’t get nominated for Best Director Oscar but he has already won the major awards including the Golden Globe for Best Director. His direction in Argo was marvelous, we all knew the outcome of the movie but his direction and vision kept us  interested in the film.

Rian Johnson won the award for his direction in Breaking Bad as a director. Lena Dunham won the award for Girls‘ direction. Pretty reasonable.

Here is the complete list of winners:

DGA Lifetime Achievement Award: Miloš Forman


Feature Film: Ben Affleck (Argo)

Documentary Feature: Malik Bendjelloul (Searching for Sugar Man)


Drama Series: Rian Johnson (Breaking Bad – Season 5, Episode 4: Fifty-One)

Comedy Series: Lena Dunham (Girls – Pilot)

Miniseries or TV Film: Jay Roach (Game Change)

Children’s Programs: Paul Hoen (Let It Shine)

Daytime Serials: Jill Mitwell (One Life to Live – Between Heaven and Hell)

Musical Variety: Glenn Weiss (66th Tony Awards)

Reality Programs: Brian Smith (MasterChef – Episode No. 305)

Commercials: Alejandro Iñárritu (Procter & Gamble’s “Best Job”)