11th Annual Central Ohio Film Critics Association Awards

The Central Ohio Film Critics Association (COFCA) announced their awards on January 3rd, 2013 with giving away the Best Film award to much surprising MOONRISE KINGDOM, directed by Wes Anderson who also won the Best Director award. This is the first major critic win by Moonrise Kingdom as it was also the biggest winner with total 5 awards including Best Original Screenplay, Best Ensemble and Best Score.

Important point: Safety Not Guaranteed should have won the Best Overlooked Film award, not Killer Joe. Foreign Language Film category winner and runner-up make no sense to me.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Film:

  1. Moonrise Kingdom
  2. Argo
  3. Django Unchained
  4. Zero Dark Thirty
  5. The Cabin in the Woods
  6. Silver Linings Playbook
  7. Lincoln
  8. Looper
  9. The Master
  10. Les Misérables

Best Director:

  • Winner: Wes Anderson (Moonrise Kingdom)
  • Runner-Up: Ben Affleck (Argo)

Best Actor:

  • Winner: Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)
  • Runner-Up: John Hawkes (The Sessions)

Best Actress:

  • Winner: Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)
  • Runner-Up: Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

Best Supporting Actor:

  • Winner: Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)
  • Runner-Up: Leonardo DiCaprio (Django Unchained)

Best Supporting Actress:

  • Winner: Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables)
  • Runner-Up (tie): Helen Hunt (The Sessions)
  • Runner-Up (tie): Ann Dowd (Compliance)

Best Ensemble:

  • Winner: Moonrise Kingdom
  • Runner-Up: Lincoln

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work): 

  • Winner: Matthew McConaughey (Bernie; Killer Joe; Magic Mike; The Paperboy)
  • Runner-Up: Anne Hathaway (The Dark Knight Rises; Les Misérables)

Breakthrough Film Artist:

  • Winner: Bart Layton (The Imposter (for directing))
  • Runner-Up: Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild (for acting))

Best Cinematography:

  • Winner: Roger Deakins (Skyfall)
  • Runner-Up: Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)

Best Adapted Screenplay:

  • Winner: Tony Kushner (Lincoln)
  • Runner-Up: Chris Terrio (Argo)

Best Original Screenplay:

  • Winner: Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom)
  • Runner-Up: Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon (The Cabin in the Woods)

Best Score:

  • Winner: Alexandre Desplat (Moonrise Kingdom)
  • Runner-Up: Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek, and Tom Tykwer (Cloud Atlas)

Best Documentary:

  • Winner: How to Survive a Plague
  • Runner-Up: The Imposter

Best Foreign Language Film:

  • Winner: The Kid with a Bike (Le gamin au vélo)
  • Runner-Up: Headhunters (Hodejegerne)

Best Animated Film:

  • Winner: ParaNorman
  • Runner-Up: Wreck-It Ralph

Best Overlooked Film:

  • Winner: Killer Joe
  • Runner-Up: Safety Not Guaranteed