11th Annual Utah Film Critics Association Awards

The Utah Film Critics Association (UFCA) announced their awards on December 20th, 2012 with giving away the Best Picture award to ZERO DARK THIRTY, directed and co-produced by Kathryn Bigelow. Whereas the Best Director award went to Wes Anderson for MOONRISE KINGDOM which is surprising and good! Other important things to notice are the Best Non-English Feature and Best Documentary Feature categories, both of these wins are unexpected.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture:

  • Winner: Zero Dark Thirty
  • Runner-up: Looper

Best Achievement in Directing:

  • Winner: Wes Anderson (Moonrise Kingdom)
  • Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Lead Performance by an Actor:

  • Winner: Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)
  • Runner-ups: Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln); John Hawkes (The Sessions)

Best Lead Performance by an Actress:

  • Winners (TIE): Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook); Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Supporting Performance by an Actor:

  • Winner: Dwight Henry (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
  • Runner-up: Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)

Best Supporting Performance by an Actress:

  • Winner: Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables)
  • Runner-up: Ann Dowd (Compliance)

Best Original Screenplay:

  • Winner: Rian Johnson (Looper)
  • Runner-up: Joss Whedon & Drew Goddard (The Cabin in the Woods)

Best Adapted Screenplay:

  • Winner: Stephen Chbosky (The Perks of Being a Wallflower)
  • Rrunner-up: David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Cinematography:

  • Winner: Roger Deakins (Skyfall)
  • Runner-up: Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)

Best Documentary Feature:

  • Winner: Indie Game: The Movie
  • Runner-up: The Invisible War

Best Non-English Language Feature:

  • Winner: Headhunters
  • Runner-up: Amour

Best Animated Feature:

  • Winner: ParaNorman
  • Runner-ups: Frankenweenie;  Wreck-It Ralph