8th Annual Austin Film Critics Association Awards

The Austin Film Critics Association (AFCA) announced their awards on December 18th, 2012 with giving away the Best Film award to Kathryn Bigelow’s direction and co-production ZERO DARK THIRTY. Whereas the Best Director award went to Paul Thomas Anderson for THE MASTER.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Film: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson (The Master)

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables)

Best Original Screenplay: Rian Johnson (Looper)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Chris Terrio (Argo)

Best Cinematography: Mihai Malaimare, Jr. (The Master)

Best Score: Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek, and Tom Tykwer (Cloud Atlas)

Best Foreign Language Film: Holy Motors

Best Documentary: The Imposter

Best Animated Film: Wreck-It Ralph

Best First Film: Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Austin Film: Bernie

Robert R. “Bobby” McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award: Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)

Special Honorary Award: Matthew McConaughey, for his exceptional work in four films this year (Bernie, Killer Joe, Magic Mike, and The Paperboy)

AFCA 2012 Top Ten Films:

  1. Zero Dark Thirty
  2. Argo
  3. Moonrise Kingdom
  4. Django Unchained
  5. Cloud Atlas
  6. Holy Motors
  7. Beasts of the Southern Wild
  8. The Master
  9. Silver Linings Playbook
  10. Looper