17th Annual Satellite Awards

The International Press Academy (IPA) announced their 17th annual Satellite Awards on December 16th, 2012 with giving away the Best Film award to Silver Linings Playbook, written and directed by David O. Russell, who also won the Best Director award which made his film the biggest winner of the night with total 5 wins including Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Film Editing.

This is an extremely shocking news because there are so many stronger contenders than Silver Linings Playbook such as Lincoln, Zero Dark Thirty, Argo and The Master. Best Actor went to Bradley Cooper instead of Daniel Day-Lewis or Joaquin Phoenix whereas Best Actress went to Jennifer Lawrence instead of Jessica Chastain or Emmanuelle Riva. I’m not saying that Cooper and Lawrence aren’t great actors, they both are awesome, and I love their acting and their personality both. And even if they have won, I’m still quite happy because the Academy is giving away recognition to young actors which is such a great initiative.

Another thing to notice is that Best Foreign Language Film award went to The Intouchables and Pietà (tied) instead of French drama film, Amour.

Key Point: Javier Bardem wins his first Best Supporting award for his role as Raoul Silva in Skyfall.

Television wins are quite great this year and I’m completely satisfied with them as they are exactly as I expected them to be!

Here is the complete list of winners:



Best Director: David O. Russell (SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK)

Best Actor: Bradley Cooper (SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK)

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence (SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK)

Best Supporting Actor: Javier Bardem (SKYFALL)

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway (LES MISÉRABLES)

Best Original Screenplay: Mark Boal (ZERO DARK THIRTY)

Best Adapted Screenplay: David Magee (LIFE OF PI)

Best Animated or Mixed Media Film: RISE OF THE GUARDIANS


Best Documentary Film: CHASING ICE

Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda (LIFE OF PI)

Best Original Score: Alexandre Desplat (ARGO)

Best Original Song: Suddenly (LES MISÉRABLES)

Best Visual Effects: FLIGHT

Best Art Direction and Production Design: LINCOLN


Best Sound (Mixing and Editing): LES MISÉRABLES

Best Costume Design: A ROYAL AFFAIR

Best Ensemble (Cast): LES MISÉRABLES


Best Miniseries or TV Film: HATFIELDS & MCCOYS

Best Genre Series: THE WALKING DEAD

Best Drama Series: HOMELAND

Best Comedy or Musical Series: THE BIG BANG THEORY

Best Actor in a Miniseries or TV Film: Benedict Cumberbatch (SHERLOCK)

Best Actress in a Miniseries or TV Film: Julianne Moore (GAME CHANGE)

Best Actor in a Drama Series: Damian Lewis (HOMELAND)

Best Actress in a Drama Series: Claire Danes (HOMELAND)

Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy Series: Johnny Galecki (THE BIG BANG THEORY)

Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy Series: Kaley Cuoco (THE BIG BANG THEORY)

Best Supporting Actor in a Series, Miniseries, or TV Film: Neal McDonough (JUSTIFIED)

Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Miniseries, or TV Film: Maggie Smith (Downton Abbey)