10th Annual African-American Film Critics Association Awards

The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) announced their awards on December 16th, 2012 with giving away the Best Picture award to ZERO DARK THIRTY, directed and co-produced by Kathryn Bigelow whereas the Best Director award went to Ben Affleck for ARGO.

Key points: Denzel Washington wins his first critic award for his role as William Whitaker in 2012 film Flight; Emayatzy Corinealdi wins her first critic Best Actress award for her role as in Middle of Nowhere; Ava DuVernay wins her first critic Best Screenplay award for Middle of Nowhere.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director: Ben Affleck (Argo)

Best Actor: Denzel Washington (Flight)

Best Actress: Emayatzy Corinealdi (Middle of Nowhere)

Best Supporting Actress: Sally Field (Lincoln)

Best Supporting Actor: Nate Parker (Arbitrage)

Best Foreign Film: The Intouchables

Breakout Performance: Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)

Best Screenplay: Ava DuVernay (Middle of Nowhere)

Best Music: Kathryn Bostic & Morgan Rhodes (Middle of Nowhere)

Best Independent Film: Middle of Nowhere

Best Animation: Rise of the Guardians

Best Documentary (tied): The House I Live In; Versailles ’73

Top Ten Films 0f 2012:

  1. Zero Dark Thirty
  2. Argo
  3. Lincoln
  4. Middle of Nowhere
  5. Life of Pi
  6. Les Misérables
  7. Django Unchained
  8. Beasts of the Southern Wild
  9. Moonrise Kingdom
  10. Think Like a Man